November 24, 2021

Dubai, UAE:  Colm McLoughlin, executive vice chairman and CEO of Dubai Duty Free, has been honoured with the Gulf Business Lifetime Achievement Award, which is reserved for somebody who has, over the course of many years, been a leading figure in the growth, development and success of the region.

Gulf Business, celebrating its 25th anniversary this year, marked the ninth edition of the Gulf Business Awards on November 23 in Dubai, to honour and applaud regional business excellence.

Hosted by Motivate Media Group at Central Park Towers, DIFC, the awards were presented to 26 prominent individuals and companies from the regional business community. The event attracted over 250 guests including top business figures from leading organisations in the GCC.

The judging panel featured experts from esteemed GCC corporations including Dr Sonia Ben Jaafar, CEO of Abdulla Al Ghurair Foundation for Education; Neil Petch, Founder and Chairman of Virtugroup; Thomas Kuruvilla, Managing Partner of Arthur D. Little Middle East; as well as Ian Fairservice, Founder and Managing Partner of Motivate Media Group and Andrew Wingrove, Group Director of Motivate Media Group.

Ian Fairservice, Managing Partner and Group Editor-in-Chief of Motivate Media Group said: “This is a very special year for Gulf Business as it marks its 25th anniversary. Gulf Business has been a leading voice for the region’s business ecosystem and these Awards showcase the finest leaders and companies driving the rapid growth in the economy, pushing forward remarkable changes within the communities they serve.”

The 2021 winners of the Gulf Business Awards are –

Banking Company of the Year
Abu Dhabi Commercial Bank
Energy Company of the Year
Healthcare Company of the Year
G42 Healthcare
Investment Company of the Year
Yas Holding
Real Estate Company of the Year
Aldar Properties
Retail Company of the Year
Technology Company of the Year
Huawei Middle East
Transport and Logistics Company of the Year
DP World
Tourism and Hospitality Company of the Year
Millennium Hotels and Resorts
Banking Business Leader of the Year
Rola Abu Manneh – CEO, Standard Chartered UAE
Energy Business Leader of the Year
Paddy Padmanathan – CEO and President, ACWA Power
Healthcare Business Leader of the Year
Dr. Shamsheer Vayalil – Chairman and Managing Director, VPS Healthcare
Investment Business Leader of the Year
Bal Krishen – Chairman, Century Financial
Real Estate Business Leader of the Year
Hussain Sajwani – Founder, DAMAC Properties
Retail Business Leader of the Year
Mohammad A Baker – Deputy Chairman and CEO, GMG
Technology Business Leader of the Year
Nidal Abou-Ltaif – President Avaya International (EMEA & APAC)
Transport and Logistics Business Leader of the Year
Captain Mohamed Juma Al Shamisi – Chairman of the Hope Consortium Executive Committee; Group CEO, Abu Dhabi Ports
Tourism and Hospitality Business Leader of the Year
Issam Kazim – CEO, Dubai Corporation for Tourism and Commerce Marketing
Inspiring Entrepreneur
Dariush Soudi
Young Business Leader
Adel Sajan
Promising Newcomer
Atif Rahman
Sustainability Company of the Year
Disruptor of the Year
SME of the Year
Businesswoman of the Year
Khadija Al Bastaki – Executive Director, Dubai Design District
Lifetime Achievement Award
Colm McLoughlin – Executive Vice Chairman and CEO of Dubai Duty Free